Silver Tone Tours, Rajasthan Tours, Golden Triangle Tours, Haroti Tour, Royal Rajasthan, GOlden Rajasthan, Ranthambhore, Ranthambore, Varanasi, Agra, Jaipur, Delhi, Khajuraho, Udaipur, Ajmer, Pushkar, Jaisalmer, Jodhpur, Bikaner, Boondi, Bundi, Mehrangarh, LalGarh, Joonagarh, Forts & Palaces, Heritage, Historical, Jodha Akbar, Humanyu, Fatehpur Sikri, Taj Group of Hotels, Heritage Hotels, Car Rental, Tour Planner, Incredible India, Indian Moments, Real India Tours, Classic Tours, Amazing Tours, Narain Niwas, Alsisar Haveli, Ammaid Bhawan, Rajputana, Jai Mahal, Raj Vilas, Raj Mahal, Raj Palace, Rambagh, Man Singh, Mandawa Haveli, Bissau Palace, Rang Mahal, Fort Rajwada, Gorbandh, Himmatgarh Palace, Lake Palace, Udai Vilas, Shiv Niwas Palace, Lakshmi Vilas, Laxmi Vilas, Rajputana Resort, Chokhi Dhani, 5 Star, 7 Star, 3 Star 2 Star, Budget Hotels, Ajeet Bhawan, Taj Ummaid Bhawan Palce, Taj Hari Mahal, Trident, The Ummaid, Ratan Niwas, Ranbanka, Karni Bhawan, Bhanwar Niwas, Lalgarh Palace

Commonwealth Games 2010 to be held in Delhi

The President of India, Mrs. Pratibha Patil has accepted the Queen of England's invitation to grace the Queen’s Baton Relay 2010 Delhi’s launch ceremony for XIX Commonwealth Games 2010 Delhi. Abhinav Bindra will receive the Queen’s Baton 2010 Delhi from the Queen as the first batonbearer. The Queen’s Baton Relay is a tradition of the Commonwealth Games and acts as a curtain raiser to every Commonwealth Games since 1958. The Queen`s Baton 2010 Delhi will take 240 days to complete the epic journey to all other member nations and territories of the Commonwealth. During this time it will cover a distance of more than 170,000 kilometres, and whilst on its 100 day national tour, the baton will visit every Indian state and its capital, plus many other cities along the way, covering in excess of 20,000 kilometres. This will make the Queen’s Baton Relay 2010 Delhi national sector twice as long as the Manchester and Melbourne relays which lasted 50 days each. On arrival at the opening ceremony, the Queen`s Baton 2010 Delhi will have travelled in excess of 190,000 kilometres over a period of 340 days; this will make the Queen’s Baton Relay 2010 Delhi one of the longest relays in the history of the Commonwealth Games. The Queen’s Baton Relay 2010 Delhi will conclude with the final batonbearer entering the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium during the Opening Ceremony of the XIX Commonwealth Games 2010 Delhi on 3 October 2010.

The Common Wealth Games are organised by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF), a union of around 70 countries lying in the major continents: Asia, Africa, America, Europe, Carribean and Oceania. The CGF was formed in the year 1930 by Bobby Robbinson with a firm will of promoting and celebrating an atmosphere of unique, friendly, world class Games in these member countries and also strengthening the harmonious mutual relations between the Commonwealth countries. The three foundation principles of the Common Wealth Games Federation are: Humanity, Equality and Destiny! These are the parameters held responsible by the Commonwealth Games Federation for every momentous decision taken within the federation.

To improve the standard of living of the residents and the societal norms; the Commonwealth Games Federation is also a staunch supporter of education and awareness via sports and recreation. The distinguishing feature of the Common Wealth Games is, its formation based on history, as compared to the geographic and climatic factors responsible for the formation of other world sport associations. It also bags the honour of being the only Games Federation that has a common language for conversation i.e. English. For this reason, the Commonwealth Games have also been coined as "Friendly Games", and thus; have been a source of inspiration amongst the Youth of the Commonwealth Nations, to excel in games and sports.

After its conception in 1930, the Commonwealth Games were known as the British Empire Games, followed by other titles like the British Empire and British Common Wealth Games. In 1978, the Commonwealth member nations took a unanimous decision to call them "The Commonwealth Games". The first Common Wealth Games (1930) were held in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada. Since then, the Common Wealth Games are held in every four years except in 1942 and 1946 due to World War II. Conducted in many other Commonwealth Nations like London, Sydney, Aukland and Kuala Lumpur; the latest Commonwealth Games were organised at Manchester, London in 2002.

The last or recent Commonwealth Games were conducted between 15-26 March 2006; in Melbourne, Australia, the capital of Victioria state and the second largest city of the Kangaru Continent. India will also be hosting the Common Wealth Games for the first time and Asia for the second time; in 2010, in Delhi, the capital city of India. The sports that will comprise of these Common Wealth Games are Cycling, Netball, Rugby, Weightlifting, Shooting, Squash, Table Tennis, Aquatics, Athletics, Gymnastics, Hockey, Badminton, Basketball, Bowls, Boxing and Triathlon.

Other Commonwealth Games Websites

Official site for CommonWealth Games Federation
Official site for Delhi Commonwealth Games
Melbourne 2006 Commonwealth Games
Commonwealth Games 2010 To Be Held Only In Delhi
Games Village For Commonwealth Games - 2010


Tag Cloud

  Golden Triangle Tour, Golden Rajasthan Tour, India Travel Packages, Car Rental Services, Best Hotel Packages, Meetings Incentives Conferences Exhibitions Events, Air Ticketing, Royal Wedding Planner India, Vintage Car Rental India, Cheap Car Rental Services, Mice, Adventure Trips in India Destinations, Udaipur Ranakpur Jodhpur Jaisalmer Bikaner Jaipur Agra Delhi, Common Wealth Games India  
All Rights Reserved @ Silver Tone Tours (2008)   Site Developed and Hosted By Deep Computers